Complete newbie...jumping right in.

cburnscrx

Cadet
Well boys and girls, I am going to purchase a used boat...and my max budget is $3500. I know, yikes. In addition the last time I was on a boat was 1995, and that was an aluminum fishing boat with a 6hp outboard...that's my boating experience. I did however spend over 10 years piloting that craft, so I know about water safety and such.

A little background...I recently bought a house with dock access (my lifelong dream is to live on the lake, but since that's not going to happen anytime soon, this was a good alternative). I am looking for a runabout (open bow) that will seat 4-6 people (adults only, kid free zone) and will be used mostly for touring around the lake looking at all the pretty houses I can't afford and hanging out in cocktail cove, possibly some tubing. It will only be used on a freshwater reservior, and not in rough conditions by any stretch of the imagination.

Right now I am looking at a 1990 Bayliner Capri with a 130hp Mercruiser.

UncleWillie

Captain
Re: Complete newbie...jumping right in.

What size is that 1990 Bayliner Capri?
6 Adults requires a lot more boat than 2 Adults and 4 kids.
Look at 18-21 footers.

cburnscrx

Cadet

What size is that 1990 Bayliner Capri?
Look at 18-21 footers.

Supposedly it's a 20ft boat...here's the ad.

Does this raise any red flags??? The pics look good, but there are no interior pics.

Title:"1990 Bayliner 1400 Capri"

"1990 20ft open bow, Inboard/Outboard Mercruiser 130hp with new marine stereo and speakers, comes with all life jackets, 2 tubes, ropes, trailer, aluminum prop. Has a Stainless prop on the boat now. Boat is in excellent shape. Runs great. Best part about this boat is it can run all day on one tank of fuel. The back seats do need to be reupholstered from getting in and out of the boat. Dont have time for boat any more these summers so going to sell it."