Cleaner mower, speedboat engines ordered

mrainey889

Seaman Apprentice
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/26547706/wid=18298287

Just saw this at MSNBC's website. I wonder how long it will be until these new regulations will be required on production boats. I also wonder how a 800-900 degree catalytic converter will be compatible with USCG rules...

Got to love this crap. A decree from on high to meet a new requirement, but no money or consideration of how to get the job done for the manufacturers of the products effected.

Hmm...I would bet the horsepower and fuel economy numbers on new boats goes down a bit in the near future. I hope I am wrong...

dodgeramsst2003

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Cleaner mower, speedboat engines ordered

Well, seeing as how I work in the industry for a company that specializes in helping these companies meets emissions requirements, I don't have a problem with the new regs. That being said, yes the price will go up, but not as much as the dooms day people predict. Once you spread the cost of research, and implementation over 1000's even millions of units, the cost goes down significantly. Second, the marine world hasn't done much in the past 50 years to make a more efficient product (I'm talking strictly I/O's here as outboards have been forced too). The EFI boats are using historic calibrations because they can and its easy. Now that they have to spend some time looking at emissions there is going to be new technology introduced and fuel economy will go up. You can only "clean" up exhaust so much with external devices, you really need to start with a more efficient engine. The marine regulations that they are talking about aren't really that hard to meet given current technology so I wouldn't worry about it. Engine technology has come a long way especially in the last 10 yrs or so, and the consumer side of it hasn't caught up yet. I'm working on products that won't be out for 2-4 yrs, and by the time it makes it to market its old news for