Carpeting, flooring and fiberglass newb questions

ob12

Cadet
Ok, I am pretty new to boating in general and really new to working on boats, (although I do have much experience working on cars). Ok, I bought an older bayliner open bow, 19' boat a year or so ago. The carpet was in pretty bad shape, so I want to replace it, but I was worried about replacing the whole floor, (boat is an 84 and previous owner did not take good care of boat). So I pulled the carpet up this weekend from the floor, (which was really, really easy, about 10mins worth of work), and found the wood underneath to be in pretty good shape. It is not really rotten at all, but does need to be sanded slightly. <br />Ok, so the new plan is to replace the carpet. So I am assuming I should sand down this old wood to freshen it up a bit, then epoxy that wood to protect it from water right? If this is possible/good idea, what products should I use to epoxy floor? And on top of that, where should I buy the carpet and glue? I don't plan on owning this boat forever, as it is a good starter boat for my family while we are learning. So any suggestions or tips would be great!!<br /><br />Also, while doing this, I noticed the front of the boat is slightly thin, the fiberglass I mean, because I can see light coming through, (not broken just thin), probably from the boat being beached alot. How should I go about fixing this, if it is even fixable? Can I just put some fiber glass sheets on the inside to reinforce the area, or should I cut it out? Any suggestions with product links would be great here too.<br /><br />Thanks for the suggestions and I hope I have added enough information.

fishingdan

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Carpeting, flooring and fiberglass newb questions