Caprice Shudder at Hwy Speed

jhande

Chief Petty Officer
I've got a noticeably annoying shudder in my Caprice that comes in frequent and regular waves, that I haven't been able to get rid of. It's not the same as a continuous vibrating like out of balance tire(s). It seems to travel front to rear and repeat.
I've been an auto tech since 1977. It's a lot easier diagnosing when test driving but I'll give it a shot.
Do you feel it in the steering wheel or the seat of your pants?
Does it happen only when hitting bumps or turning or does it seem to happen for no reason?
Does it happen at any specific MPH?

Rotor or drum problems would feel like out of balance tires. To be honest, I've never ran into those being a problem.
It comes and goes away. Travels front to back and repeats. Humm...
Possibly separated belts in a tire. Swapping tires front to back would change where and how you feel the shudder.
I would check that both front and rear suspension is tight, even checking for worn/crack bushings. Also make sure all the front alignment components are good - especially the idler arm which when worn out can cause a similar issue that you're describing.

Renken2000Classic

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Thanks for the replies. I've sort of given up on it for now (putting other fires out).

I replaced the steering linkage a few years ago - everything except the pitman arm, then had it aligned at a local big name tire shop (chain). Front tires were essentially new then (Primewell - low end). I don't remember any shuddering until a good while later (can't put a mileage # to it).

By the time I got the rears worn out, and ready to move the fronts to the back, the shuddering had been happening for a while, and both the fronts had worn on the inside edges, but still showed some tread there.

I had what had been the fronts rebalanced and moved to the back, and got new ones for the front, but it didn't change anything as far as the shuddering.