calling all electricians

mellowyellow

Vice Admiral
there seems to be a lot of pro. electricians<br />that visit here and was wondering if anyone<br />has experience using/installing a "hot water<br />on demand" system. I have 2 electric hot water<br />tanks in my old drafty basement and they cost<br />me a small fortune to run. on demand sounds good<br />to me in theory....

Emby

Seaman Apprentice
Re: calling all electricians

I am not an electrician. Assuming you are referring to the units that install under a sink (or equivalent), I have some limited knowledge. They are wonderful and will save you some money. They work great for things like washing hands, or possibly for an automatic dishwasher. Don't try using one for the shower though. The one's I've dealt with basically try to super heat the moving water. The result is the hot water similar to coming from a standard hot water heater. They say not to use them for extended periods. I think the super heater either starts heating up everything else too, or it's just too hard on the heating elements themselves. The thing I like best about them is that the water is hot in 1-2 seconds. You don't have to wait for the hot water to course through the pipes from the hot water heater to the faucet. This is great if you are in an area that has occasional forced water conservation. I hope those professional electricians out there can verify this for us.

Alrobot

Petty Officer 2nd Class

As far as I know there are two types of on demand systems. One is a 5 gallon unit below the sink, very limited capacity if you want to run a shower. The other is a recirculator system that pretty much just cycles the water back to the heater tank until you get the desired temp then it shuts off. In california we use this stuff called "natural gas" to heat our water. Might be worth looking into, its a bit cheaper than electricity...

mellowyellow

Vice Admiral