Boat Suggestions?

jetter2

Cadet
Howdy!

22 year old texan reporting in, this looks like the go-to-place for boating information so I'll take a stab at it :)

Little background; I'm a 22 year old guy, I'm an Engineer by day and a college student by night. During the summers and weekends I try to enjoy these long Texas summers as much as I can ;) of course being this age, the boating bug has resurfaced in my life and its something I want to pursue!

I grew up on our lakes, first boat I teethed on was our 5.2M NACRA cat, LOVED it. All the stuff happening is what got me into aviation as well, but when we got our ski boat I found it much more fun, and alot less work than the sailboat.

This past year I finally got my car that I have been hunting for over the past 24 months, and now I want to move onto my first ski boat. I have a F150 that I can tug the boat around with, and I feel like 18-22' would serve my needs well. A few people have suggested Motorcraft as a good used boat so here is my requirement list.

-It seats 6-8 people
-Has an open bow (the girl loves sitting up front)
-I can put a wake-rack on it, or comes with one (speakers and gear)
-$10k price range?

I'm very in my element on the water from both an operational and saftey standpoint. Like I said I grew up doing this and I'm looking for a boat that I don't have to pour a lot of work or extra money into up front (trying to avoid fixxer-uppers).

What should I look for, what should I avoid? How about maintnance records or engine time? I'm just a sponge trying to soak up as much info as I can before I'm boat-buying-mode this winter :D

Let me know what yall think!

Huron Angler

Admiral
Re: Boat Suggestions?

If I were in your situation I'd get a used one of these:D