boat has not been run in 7 years, pics inside

srt4bad

Cadet
hello, im new to boats, i got a 1976 merc. 50 hp outboard and the guy I got it from said it was running the last time he parked it 7 years ago. what do I need to do, cheack, and or repair before I try to start it.:confused:

Last edited:

hoytvectrix

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: boat has not ben run in 7 years

You are probably going to have to clean the carbs. Replacing the impeller for the water pump is a must.

blazer01

Seaman Apprentice

first i would attempt to drain the fuel from the carbs.

then i would remove the heads and take a spray bottle filled with 2 cycle oil (quicksilver) spray into the cylinders MANUALLY turn the flywheel to get the cylinders lubed. put the heads back on and do a compression check. if the readings are good.

srt4bad

Cadet

pull the heads and replace the impeller, drain fuel from carbs. wheres thee best place to find an impeller for a 76 motor?

Alumarine

Captain

I wouldn't pull the head(s), even if that is possible.

Just squirt some oil in the spark plug holes and pull it over a few times.

Clean/overhaul the carbs.

You can get an impeller right here from Iboats or any merc dealer.

Mi duckdown

Commander

Do not pull the heads. Not neccesary at this point. remove plugs and squirt oil into the the holes and rotate the flywheel.
Replace impellar.
Cange lube and gaskets on drain/vent plugs.
Check for spark.
Clean carbs, hoses, tank. anything fuel related.
If possible borrow a known, good, fuel tank and hose with good fresh fuel.
That is a good start.

ifixf18s

Seaman Apprentice