Best Way to Grease Trailer Wheels? Newbie...

mrtommy03

Seaman Apprentice
Hello,
What's the best way to grease the boat trailer wheels? I'm completely new to this.

1) What all do I need?
2) How do I do it?

Thanks

tractoman

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Best Way to Grease Trailer Wheels? Newbie...

You'll need to remove the wheels and hubs to inspect the bearings. You may be able to clean them and repack them or you may need new bearings. In either case you'll need new seals. Search online for repacking bearings and you should be able to find a step by step guide with photos. On any new to me trailer I always replace the bearings. If your putting new bearings in, you'll need to replace the races or cones as some call them. Not that difficult, just a little messy.
Good luck.

great gricey

Seaman Apprentice