Best sharpener for my Kabar?

ezbtr

Commander
Had it for YEARS, trying different whetstones, carbide/ceramic(works on all others) , why does this seem like the hardest of all to sharpen? All others fine, my old Washita is more of a honing stone, tried my Camillus survival knife one as well, slow going. If I remember correctly, it was never terribly sharp???

alldodge

Staff member
Have sharpened many knives but I'm no expert by any means. In most cases keeping the angle with each pass is where most have issue, including my self. A jig is what helps me.

ezbtr

Commander
Have sharpened many knives but I'm no expert by any means. In most cases keeping the angle with each pass is where most have issue, including my self. A jig is what helps me.
But all my other knives are fine? I have one I carry every day, smaller of course, keeps a great edge, no issues

alldodge

Staff member
Don't know what to say. I have a pocket knife which is more on the stainless side and I get it sharp, but just doesn't stay that way very long. Main reason because of the stainless

MRS

Commander
If it rust a carbon steel the best I think easy to sharpen and does hold a edge. But most knifes today are stainless harder to sharpen. I have used this for the last at least 40 years works great learn to use and you can sharpen any knife. If yours will not sharpen you need to get the right bevel on it start with the course stone then go to the medium then the fine. Takes time just slide across the stone like you are trying to shave a thin piece of the stone off. Plus make sure you have honing oil for your stone. I do not like all the fancy diamond or ceramic easy sharpeners they sell now learn the stones with honing oil and you can sharpen any knife you have. I have cheap bait knifes and they will cut thru frozen bait no problem.

Attachments

• Stone.jpg
    Stone.jpg
    22 KB · Views: 6

Sprig

Chief Petty Officer