best/good fish/ski boat combo

chrish45

Cadet
I am sure this topic as been posted before but I was having a hard time finding anything.

What I am looking for is a good fish ski boat, older model. Going to have to buy it used. Since I am new to owning a boat, I have been trying to figure things out. But am getting a lot of different answers.

I found a brand called the Cajun, but someone said they are not the best built.
I also found one called a Quantum that is nice looking, but I think it has a Force motor on it, and my brother says he has heard bad things about them.

I also found a 1993 Ebbtide 181 SS which looks really nice.
So, I guess the big question is...what brand is a good fish ski combo and what brand should I just not even look at.

Any suggestions?

chrish45

Cadet
Re: best/good fish/ski boat combo

wanted to add...I want to stay in the 1990's and above. I am also talking freshwater fishing and skiing.

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

Brands are fairly unimportant in regards to used boats. It's all about how they were maintained. I'd much rather have a well cared for low-end boat than a neglected high end one. That being said....you may want to avoid Force outboards and OMC I/O's due to them not being made anymore and not being fully supported with parts. Mercruiser also had an engine called the 470 that was troublesome (also called a 3.7L or 170HP).

That being said, Ebbtides are known quality boats and are sought after. But a neglected Ebbtide could still be rotted through and through.

Tubingluvr

Chief Petty Officer

look for a nice fiberglass bow rider with an outboard on it, there are tons of them out there.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner

Since you are going to be using the boat on freshwater, you can get away with less boat, than a bay/ocean fish/ski boat.