Are we all energy pigs?

f_inscreenname

Commander
I try to do the right things. I turn off the lights behind me. I have newer vehicles working properly. My house AC/heat are programmed into the thermostat to go on and off at the proper times at a “good” temp. I don't leave the hose on when I wash the car. Efficient sinks, toilet etc. Have installed new windows and insolated the house in the last couple years......... But......... Then there come my boat. Dump lots of gas, oil into it, burn it up, go home, do it again next weekend. I don't care what type of motor (even trolling motors have to charge the batteries, more energy) and boat you have. Short of being a waterman by trade you are just wasting energy. I have come to terms that I “cant” say I do everything I can for the environment. Kind of sucks but I don't think I am going to give up my boat . Then there is the whole oil thing. Being dependent on the middle east etc. Should I feel bad? What do you all think?

kenimpzoom

Rear Admiral
Re: Are we all energy pigs?

Dont fall into the liberal guilt trip. You've done all you can, enjoy your life.<br /><br />Making everything as efficient as possible makes good sense. Obstaining from a fun activity just because it uses energy doenst make sense.<br /><br />Ken

cmyers_uk

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Ive come to understand that im selfish, yes I talk a good game , recycle my rubbish etc etc but hey I drive a car that does 25mpg a boat that burns fuel by the 'boat load' and if I stop nobody else will so whats the point.<br /><br />Yes Im selfish and its wrong but I am happy :) and when the oils gone I will feel bad

12Footer

Fleet Admiral