Any good tips for a noob to trolling?

NMShooter

Petty Officer 2nd Class
My prior experience with trolling consists of dragging a panther martin behind a canoe :)

I bought a 16' fish and ski O/B for my daughter and me to fish out of. We want to troll for stripers in Elephant Butte lake, and Salmon in Eagle's Nest lake (both in New Mexico). Probably try trolling for walleye in Abiquiu lake too.

I'm looking around for a couple of "starter" downriggers. Holy cow these things are expensive.

Any good reference books for complete beginners? Got any tips to share? I know nothing about the hardware or technique... we're mostly cold water fly fishing types.

Any and all comments appreciated!

Thanks,

Frank

Here's a fun little creek to fish. There's 1000s of brook trout in there... a whopper is 10". We're hoping for somewhat bigger fish than this yeilds!
IMG_3017.jpg

Mark_VTfisherman

Lieutenant
Re: Any good tips for a noob to trolling?

Quite the stream there!

Anyway, if you search the archives in freshwater fishing, you will find several threads from last year which might prove useful. You can search for a particular term, which I would recommend.

Second, I like the Big Jon manuals- you can get them used, sometimes for a bargain if you are patient. I didn't pay over $25 for either of mine, and I scored an electric Walker on eBay for not much more (lucky). I paid as much for swivel bases as I did the riggers LOL

I would stay away from the low-priced new ones with the horizontal reels. True, they work, but the next step up will keep you happy probably forever unless you find yourself needing an electric ;)

I wouldn't use ANY other release besides The Chamberlain Release which can be bought a number of places but my fishing buddy owns The Old Fishing Hole in Morrisville VT. He has them in stock for a good price. Also, I like the 10# fish-shaped weights. They seem to blow back less then round balls.