Alpha 1 Generation 2 Gimbal Ring Install

dkrider471

Cadet
So i'm about to change my gimbal ring on my boat which is a 1995 21' Wellcraft 210SCS. I bought a service manual and see what I need to do and I don't think i'll have any problems with it. So heres my question. I'm planning on buying the gimbal ring with grease fitting, install gasket kit, bellow kit, Trim sender kit because mine is bad, and prob going to replace the shift cable while i'm in there. Is there anything else I should be aware of buying? I'm not sure but i'm guessing i should replace the upper shaft as well? Any help would be greatly appreciated because I know how to work on cars, but boats are a whole other world. I'm highly mechanically inclined I just want to know what to replace while i'm in there instead of having to turn around and go back to it. Thanks.

odie241

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Alpha 1 Generation 2 Gimbal Ring Install

Welcome to I-boats

I just did mine this past weekend.I am also a Mechanic,but didnt know anything about boats.You might want to pick up a few u-joints also,they are cheap,and worth changing while your in there.Mine where fine,just looked really old,didnt have any play,but with replacing the gimble bearing,bellows,shift cable,impeller,I wanted to make sure everything was new,so it satisfied my mind knowing.

dkrider471

Cadet

Thanks for the fast reply. I was planning on doing that as well I just forgot to include it. As i'm ripping into the boat i'm finding little things that just aren't looking so well and the motor i'm actually pulling out for this job to make my life a lot easier on me. I was told something about the install kit is a little tricky to install. Did you have any problems with this?

odie241

Petty Officer 2nd Class