A few questions from a learner

kylef

Cadet
Hi all, I have a Stingray 190RS with a 4.3 MerCruiser AlphaOne, which I had some minor issues a few months ago that this awesome community was able to help me with. She runs pretty good now, we even had her out yesterday with myself and my son wakeboarding for the first time ever behind her. My arms and legs are a bit sore haha 😄

Anyway, I am relatively new to boating so have a few questions and some pictures go go along with some of them, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Question 1 is around the propeller, it looks like it's had a hard life but whether it's condition affects how it runs is part of my question. As we use the boat for towing a biscuit/tube, skiing and wakeboarding, is this the correct propeller to use? The writing on it is Solas E3x14.8x7R. I have seen 4 blade and 5 blade propellers before, which is best?

Question 2 I have labeled the picture with a number 2 - what is this device/contraption?

Question 3 is aligned to picture 3, which oil pump is this?

Question 4 is regarding my fuel gauge which is not working well at all, it jumps from full to 1/4 to 3/4 to full to empty 100 times a minute. I was told to check the contacts in the fuel tank, is the part I've circled in picture 4 the correct place I should unscrew and inspect?

My last question is regarding the vinyl seats. They are badly faded and a shade of brown from dust and dirt and heaven only knows what else. I've tried soap and water with sponges and hard bristled brushes. Has anybody got any advice on what I can try to use to get these back to a semi decent shade of white and red/maroon?

Attachments

• 20220131_143848.jpg
    20220131_143848.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 52
  • 20220131_143203.jpg
    20220131_143203.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 57
  • 20220131_125411.jpg
    20220131_125411.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 56
  • 20220131_143058.jpg
    20220131_143058.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 52
  • 20220131_143053.jpg
    20220131_143053.jpg