a complete newbie in CO looking for advice

boulderite

Recruit
Greetings everyone,
I enjoyed reading this forum a lot, so I finally registered. :)
As a complete newbie I have to claim ignorance to most of the terminology and abbreviations, as well as what's involved in boating. But here in Colorado we have so many beautiful lakes, it's a shame not to explore them.
So I am plowing through craigslist and dealers' sites to find a boat for about $2,000 that could fit up to 5-6 people and a couple of kids. Just for fishing and sightseeing.
Reading the threads, I gathered that outboard motor is preferred to inboard for easier maintenance.
What makers are known for reliability and ease of use?
How would you go about inspecting/testing a boat (particularly if there's no water or marine shop nearby)
Thanks!

TyeeMan

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: a complete newbie in CO looking for advice

Howdy and welcome to iboats!

Unfortunately I think 2K is a little on the low side for what you're looking for. Up here in Minnesota 2K might get you a 16 foot ok aluminum boat with a 15-25 hp outboard and a trailer that likely needs work. All of which will be in the 70's to early 80's vintage, , , that's not bad in and of itself.

That said, I think you're partially on the right track, , with the outboard part of your post. Outboards are much lighter on maintenance than inboard outboards, basically you grease any grease points once or twice a year and change the lower unit oil before winter storage. Look for a "popular" outboard, Mercury, Johnson/Evenrude. These are your mainstream motors and there's lots of parts out there.