9.9 Hp Engine How fast?

villian69

Recruit
I am new to all this stuff<br />I have a 9.9hp engine-was wondering what type of license I would need-? How many knots would that engine go?<br /><br />Kieran

nikk

Seaman Apprentice
Re: 9.9 Hp Engine How fast?

hello if your in canada you dont need a licence until 2009 unless its a jet ski also as for speed if its going on a small aluminum boat it will go farily quick wont break records. :p :p :p

sloopy

Commander

30 foot sailboat = 6 miles an hour<br />10 foot john boat = 10 miles an hour<br />12 foot v hull = 20 miles an hour***

fishguy

Seaman

Not to pick nits, but if he's in Canada and running a tinny with a 9.9 and no boatcard, he's breaking the law.<br />That was the boat I was in (no pun intended) until I got the 14 1/2 footer.<br />Anything under 4m needed a boatcard a while ago, about a year, I believe.......<br />Anyways, if you're in Canada, please go check it out and make sure before you head out without one. <br /><br />From: https://www.boaterexam.com/msn/faq1.html <br /><br />Q: When do I need the card?<br />All operators born after April 1, 1983 require the card now.<br />All operators of craft under 4m, including PWCs, require the card now.<br />All operators will require the card by Sept 15, 2009 regardless of boat length.<br /><br />I'm not one to correct, but wanted to speak up on this one...I was a bit miffed that I was required to get a boatcard for my home-made 10' tinny with a 4.5 Rude, and a couple I know can blast around cluelessly at 60+mph in their jet boat until 2009.<br /><br />I have a feeling that the death rate was soooo much higher in the jetski catergory that they wanted to have them carded first. Maybe they had to go by size so it doesn't look like they're just 'out to get' the jetski's....?<br /><br />If anyone knows the real reason, fill me in please!

fishguy

Seaman