81 Mercury ignition problem.

AceyDeucey

Cadet
Hi guys, I'm new at this - boats, outboards and forums. So please bear with me if I don't use the correct terms etc..:redface:
I have a 1981 Merc 700 with thunderbolt ignition with 1 coil per cylinder.
I have been having an occasional odd problem recently where the motor had no power under acceleration and the more throttle I gave it the more it sounded like it was going to choke, but back it off into neutral and wait a while and it would run great. This only happened occasionally but I thought it might be worth mentioning.
The reason that I'm posting now is, my motor just died 14km from shore. (Lucky I was with a mate and his boat and a tow rope). Now the motor turns over fine but will not fire up, I find I have no spark at all 3 spark plugs. If I remove the orange wire from my switchbox (the one connected to the safety switch) the motor fires up and runs fine. Is this kill switch faulty and just needs replacing or is this switch doing its job and stopping the motor from running because there is another problem?
If anyone has any thoughts they would be appreciated.
Cheers.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Re: 81 Mercury ignition problem.

The orange wire is grounded to kill the ignition, by the ign switch or the emergancy kill switch, or perhaps the mercury switch that detects over tilt of the motor. It is usually mounted on the front cowl support and s plue.

There is not other function tied to the orange wire. In your case, I would think the kill switch is bad.

AceyDeucey

Cadet

Thanks Chris for your reply. Looks like it is not my mercury switch is functioning fine after all. I think the problem is the orange wires are going to earth somewhere. Am I right in thinking that if all conditions are fine the connection between the orange wire and earth is broken, thus telling the switchbox to allow spark?