'78 Hydra Sport 168vee Restore Project

bbodin

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hello everyone! I purchased a '78 Hydra Sport 168vee Bass Boat this summer. It was in terrible shape when I purchased it. For the price I couldn't turn it down (not to mention that I felt it needed to be brought back to life).
Here are some of the issues that I have found so far:
Pointed out by seller:
needs to be buffed out, gel coat oxidized
new seats
carpet needs to be replaced.
Here's what I found upon inspecting it:
gel coat trash
seats trash
carpet mostly dust
deck rotten then almost fell through to find the stringers rotten and foam soaked and mush.
No telling what I'll find next.
The motor is in great shape however. It's a replacement as the original was stolen off the boat. It's a '84 Evinrude 90hp.

I am planning on totally restoring the boat this fall and winter. I have never done this before so it will be a learning experience for me.
I do have some skills and plenty of tools. I will have plenty of questions so I ask(beg) for help from the experienced here.
In the next couple of weeks I plan on putting it in my workshop then removing the outboard and the teardown begins.
I have been reading the posts by Oops about his rebuild and it has answered alot of questions. There are some things that I am undecided on. One being will I just pain the hull or re-gel coat is. And how in the heck is color added to gel coat, is it just mixed in prior to spraying? So far, I know nothing about gel coat obviously.
Another is, what's the best(economical) way of removing and storing the outboard during the rebuild.

I will be posting pics when I start the teardown.

Any advise prior to starting is greatly appreciated.

Brian.

Last edited:

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
Re: '78 Hydra Sport 168vee Restore Project

Welcome to the iBoats Dry Dock!
This link will show you how to make a motor stand for your motor.
http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=266008