77 Galaxie Mercruzer I/O Transom saver???

lfalk

Seaman Apprentice
I am new to boats and I am starting a restoration. I took the motor and had it checked out it is fine. The rope that held the outboard part up was removed and not put back. The outboard part has now fallen (lowered itself) to the ground and I can not pick it back up. I need to get a battery and raise it again. Do I need to put something under it or get a transom saver type device to hold it going down the road? It took about a week for it to go down on its own. Any help would be appreciated. Lee

86 century

Ensign
Re: 77 Galaxie Mercruzer I/O Transom saver???

If its falling at all you have a leak or air in the lines of your trim system.

If you can find your trim pump some have a valve you can open to manualy raise or lower the drive will see if I can get you a pic of it.

Good luck

lfalk

Seaman Apprentice

Thanks I have no idea what it looks like I took a picture of what I am guessing might be it but I would not be suprised if I am totally wrong on this. I don't see any valves on it or really any hydrolic lines now that I think about it.

Attachments

• boat motor mount 004.jpg
    boat motor mount 004.jpg
    145.3 KB · Views: 0

jbcurt00

Staff member

Thanks I have no idea what it looks like I took a picture of what I am guessing might be it but I would not be suprised if I am totally wrong on this. I don't see any valves on it or really any hydrolic lines now that I think about it.

That's the starter solenoid/relay.....:facepalm:

Look for this:
trim pump.jpg Thanks for the pix Frisco, turned up in a trim pump google search!:cool:

The red in this next photo of YOUR outdrive, is the trim ram, matching 1 on other side, has hose running into the transom & on into the bilge/engine cover area somewhere ( circled in blue) :
Mercruiser.jpg