75hp Mercury issues on maiden voyage...

leeklm

Cadet
Hello all,

Picked up a "bargain" (i think) boat to take my 13yr old fishing... 1985 or 86 Mercury 75hp/ 2-carbs.

Motor starts up easy, but will not idle well until warmed up. After warm, it generally runs good except...

-- on ocassion, the motor will bog down & want to die when accelerating past 1/2 way or so. This condition tends to clear up after reving it in neutrel, and then runs fine and pulls well under full throttle. This happened in my driveway and on the lake.

--engine wants to also die when trying to run it at trolling speed. give it just a little more gas (1/4 throttle) and runs fine.

I am a backyard mechanic, but limited experience with outboards. Will a Service Manual provide specs and troubleshooting with linkage controls, etc??

Thanks for your help & suggestions!!

ohio river rat in KY

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 75hp Mercury issues on maiden voyage...

good luck man, were in the same boat.....i got a deal too but mine was a 80hp mariner. mine i think was the carb ajustment, plugs,fuel line, had a coil pack not grounded out good (found that with carb cleaner) not good,cleaned the carbs 3 times,and checked the timing. even took it to a shop to have worked on and this was all after i got it back.. check all of this and you might have some luck or look at some of my old post a lot of good info on them what people has told me and it all helped out... i hope i got mine going good now just got to hit the water:) good luck

Wingedwheel

Lieutenant Junior Grade

If you don't know the history of this engine, I would really suggest rebuilding the carbs. Thats not too expensive and it can't hurt.

nzahradka

Cadet