5.7 Overheating

Darcher99

Cadet
Ok. Coming back to the knowledge pool. Put a new long block in. Got it to start and running. Now, it overheats at idle. I believe that there may be a small exhaust leak...would that cause it to run hot? I am fairly new to this. I just need to know if I should be looking for a new thermostat, or just tighten up the exhaust. :)

Bondo

Staff member
Ayuh,..... Is the drive on it,..??

You are supplin' water to it, Right,..?? How,..??

flashback

Captain
You have a new motor but no mention of peripheral parts. How old are the exhaust?

Bondo

Staff member
Yep. Outdrive is on and Im putting water to it via earmuffs.
Ayuh,..... Pull the in-comin' hose off the t-stat housin', 'n run it for a few seconds,....
You should have a massive water flow outa the hose,....

If not, work yer way back to the drives impeller,....

If so, is there water in the block,..??
Is there flow outa the hoses to the manifolds/ risers,..??

Darcher99

Cadet
Water in the block? What do you mean? It's newly rebuilt engine. I hope there's no water in the block. Ha Ha.

flashback

Captain
My hope is that you find water in the block. HAHA
It just has to be in the proper place!

QBhoy

Fleet Admiral
What outdrive is she attached to ? Presumably it has suitable cooling set up ?

Darcher99

Cadet
Ayuh,..... Pull the in-comin' hose off the t-stat housin', 'n run it for a few seconds,....
You should have a massive water flow outa the hose,....

If not, work yer way back to the drives impeller,....

If so, is there water in the block,..??
Is there flow outa the hoses to the manifolds/ risers,..??
Just pulled the intake hose to the thermostat hosing and there is no water. Smh. Which is confusing, because everything was working before I put it back on the boat after the engine swap.

flashback

Captain