3 wire/2 wire tilt/trim

I am bidding on a used tilt/trim unit on Ebay for my 82 evinrude 115. It says it is a 3 wire. I believe mine to be a two wire. Other than that, it looks exactly the same. Will I be able to use the 3 wire on my boat? I was already planning on replacing the entire electrical box anyway as it is pretty corroded.

MarkV_Deep6

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 3 wire/2 wire tilt/trim

Yes and no, it would be much simpler to use the two wire that is on the one you have now...If the two wire will fit the one you buy on ebay, use it instead. I believe the three wire requires relays due to power needs.

How exactly would I go about changing out the wires? I am new to this. Thanks

OBJ

Supreme Mariner

The three wire motor used one solenoid, similar to a starter solenoid, for "UP" travel. The two wire motor used used smaller relays to power the motor in both the up and down travel. Unless your really good at re-wiring relays, I'd leave the three wire alone and find a good two wire motor. <br /><br />Parts for the two wire motor are available. Is your motor that far gone it can't be repaired?

the whole unit is pretty worn out. The seals leak, it is all original(1982), and it has seen lots of saltwater use. Are you saying that the three wire motor is not capable of powering the motor down, but only up? Thanks

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner