20hp running right?

gnarbrah

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Alright, I just got back in from my first lake run with my 1988 20hp Johnson. It's on the back of a 12' Carolina Skiff. It started and ran "fine" the whole time but I think it's either missing slightly or may be a dirty carb? It took quite a bit longer to get on plane than I expected and never seemed to really "tach out" to where it sounded right. I just moved up from a 9.9 to this motor which is a totally different animal so I might just not know what to expect.

Whether I'm idling or running wot it just seems like it's a little rough. It never seems to smooth out if you know what I'm saying. I'll try and get a video posted for reference.

In the meantime any suggestions? I'm thinking a good carb overhaul won't hurt. It seems pretty accessible on this motor which is nice but I'm hoping someone can point me in the direction of a post outlining the process (I know there's some good ones here and I'm fairly new at the carb rebuild thing)

Thanks

Mas

Lieutenant Commander
Re: 20hp running right?

It may very well be a dirty carb and a carb rebuild may be needed...but what about new fresh gas??

Try squeezing your fuel line primer bulb while it's running...if rpms increase, look to the fuel pump.

Do you have a strong blue spark?

MAS

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

new motor to you. i would start with compression and spark check on both cylinders. clean and rebuild the carb with a kit. the only difference in is your carb has the adjustable slow speed needle http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=244013

(Carburetor Adjustment - Single S/S Adjustable Needle Valve)
(J. Reeves)

Initial setting is: Slow speed = seat gently, then open 1-1/2 turns.