1995 BW Rage14 115 Jet

estame6

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hi all. I am new to this boat and need some pointers on removing the power head. I haven't found much to read on this and understand there are three bolts through the adapter which when removed the power head is lifted off the jet drive together with the adapter. Would like to hear from anyone that has attempted this and can add to a few other questions.
Many thanks.20220927_153010.jpg

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Step #1 would be to remove some panels to get room to work on it.

estame6

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Thanks for that. The Transom and the side panels are non removable and are part of the boat structure and gel coated on the outboard side to form storage areas. The space around the engine is fairly accessible and was more hoping to find someone that has done the job of removal to get some pointers. Thanks again...

racerone

Supreme Mariner
What trouble shooting was done on this engine ?----Compression test would be easy before lifting it out.-------I took one out on my own boat.-----Correct the 3 bolts / studs and nuts hold it in there.----The engine , adapter and muffler lift out as an assembly.

Last edited:

estame6

Petty Officer 2nd Class
The troubleshooting resulted in seeing a spray of water when the engine is running coming from under the muffler. Where the muffler gasket is located then going down from the gasket about 3" to the lower part of the adapter's is this spray of water coming from the lower edge spraying out horizontally.

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Maybe it was not winterized properly.----Have you done a compression test on it ?----I would and post your numbers here.

estame6

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Thanks, I will do a compression test over weekend and report.
That's good you mentioned that, what is the procedure for winterizing?

racerone

Supreme Mariner