1993 Yamaha 40hp Electric Start

BugTosser

Cadet
Hi everyone, I am new to the BB. I just wanted to say thank you for all the information I have been reading today.<br /><br />Now, I am a newbie when it comes to OB motors so I could use some of your expertise.<br /><br />I have a 1993Yamaha 40ELRR (40HP) electric start with controls. I recieved this motor and boat for free from my work. This motor was purchased new in 1993 by my company and was used during the summer months on the weekend for short period. Then they let the boat sit, with the motor uncoverd in the elements since 1995-96.<br />The exterior of the motor shows oxidation but when I removed the cowling(hood) the motor look new. I got some advice from another board about how to get it started. I used WD40 to lubricate the outer parts and changed the fuel and added Seafoam. I also changed the lower unit oil. The oil from the lower unit was not milky but dark green. I also emptied the Oil for the gas(Oil Injected) and put new oil in it. New battery was also installed.<br /><br />When I turned the key, the green light for the oil came on. So I know that works. When I try to start it, it will turn over but will not start. When I spayed some starting fluid in the the carbs it fired right up but then it dies.It seems everything is in order and it sounds good when it does fire up for the few seconds. What else can be the problem? It seems like it is not getting any fuel. I pumbed the bulb tight and still it will not start. any thing else I can do ? Fuel pump, filter ?<br /><br />Any help would be appreciated.<br />Thank You.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 1993 Yamaha 40hp Electric Start