1989 Force 85hp Carb Question

Community,

I am attempting to purchase a carbtune pro to tune my carbs. Does anyone know where I will plug this tune tool in the engine? I’m new to outboards and any help would be greatly appreciated.

I see that it goes in the intake manifold but can’t seem to find what screws I would remove to get this set up.

Nordin

Commander
Please pics of the tool.
BTW You do not need any special tool to tune the carbs.

Clean the carbs and do a link and sync. You find the link and sync thread in the top of this home page (Chrysler/Force forum).
It is written by Frank A who was the guru with Chrysler/Force OB.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
Don't waste your $$$
Do a compression test and clean the recirc system
and then do as Nordin suggested, Linc and sync.
The factory said to set the carbs air screw at 1 turn
out from lightly seated.
BUT!! some older Force 85's won't run right at that setting.
Linc and sync.

Thanks for the recommendations. I plan to do the link and sync but I’m terrible at mechanics so it’s a bit out of this world for me.

I ran the engine today before doing anything and I noticed a good amount of oil in the tub. I will attach pictures. I also noticed after taking the plugs out that the first 2 plugs were wet with black oil residue similar to what was in the water the bottom one was completely clean.

i did check spark with a spark tester and all cylinders have a bright spark.

Attachments

• photo339464.jpg
    photo339464.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 1
  • photo339465.jpg
    photo339465.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 0
Additional spark plugs and oil in water tub

Attachments

• photo339466.jpg
    photo339466.jpg
    239.7 KB · Views: 0
  • photo339467.jpg
    photo339467.jpg
    232.2 KB · Views: 0
  • photo339468.jpg
    photo339468.jpg
    236.6 KB · Views: 0

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
Sounds like #3 isn't firing???
Check the coil?
#3 is run from the 2nd pack.
Spark test all 3 plugs, then if there's no spark