1989 black max needs CPR STAT!!!

vipertec

Cadet
my engine years ago developed a problem where under accel would lack full rpm.It would jump up about 500 rpm after say 5 min driving and be ok.Eventually got to to the point of only getting up to 1000 rpm ,could not get on plane until 1/2 hour of messing with it.I am an auto tech by profession,with minimal outboard experience,so i tryed fuel:prime bulb under accel,cleaned carbs,rebuilt fuel pump,:n/g.still clears upafter 1/2 hour.Took to canada and still acted up so took to dealer to find out stator n/g.Got home and replaced,still n/g.So i parked boat for 3 years.Now attempting to repair my trim is stuck up and only relays click.Is there a common issue here and if motor is that, can I repair,parts available?
As for poor driving any info or diag would be appreciated,possible"black boxes"or switch boxes faulty.Last ,if i can resolve these issues i would like to replace water pump.I have done one on a force 50hp,would it be similar?thanks for any input.

sschefer

Rear Admiral
Re: 1989 black max needs CPR STAT!!!

Did you ever check the compression on the motor?

vipertec

Cadet

Yes when i ran it last[3 years ago} and they where all within 10 psi of each other and within spec for which i dont remember what it was,when i drive it it feels as if i m pulling 10 skiers and every minute one drops off.The rpms start to jump up in increments until boom,full rpm achieved.

j_martin

Admiral

What's with the STAT bit? You've been letting it go for years.

Do a compression test to see if you've burned it down yet. Ain't worth doing a lot of "tune up" stuff on a broken motor.

sschefer

Rear Admiral

The trim problem is probably just a gummed up pump motor. You can take them apart and clean them but sometimes it's just as easy to replace them with a rebuilt.

As for the running problems. I'd pull the plugs and fog the cylinders then turn it over by hand with the plugs out to make sure it's turning over freely.