1988 Renken Cuddy Classic 2000

dustinsapple

Seaman Apprentice
Hey all,

Beginner boater here I'm just getting into boats and learning about them. I myself am a backyard mechanic, welder by trade and work in a machine shop. I'm not the best of wood workers as I prefer metal but I am going to attempt to gut my floor in the boat, clean and redo everything.

I just bought my first boat this season, with a cracked block from not winterizing it properly last year. The guy I bought it from picked it up late last season only used it a hand full of times before storing it for the winter. First time he took it out this season he quickly found out water had froze and cracked the block. He dumped the boat so I got it fairly cheap on a trailer with a brand new axle.

The boat is old yes, but after having just replaced the block and rebuilt the motor, its all in good shape. The hull itself is in good shape too, no repairs or cracks anywhere and overall I believe was well maintained during most of its life. Since buying the boat about a month ago, I rebuilt the motor fixed up all the gauges and small stuff like blower motor and plumbing, bilge pump, adjusted everything I could to make the boat work as it should and run great.

I've had the boat out for day trips and have about 12 hours on the motor rebuild at this time, it doesn't leak or require me to run a bilge and overall I've been super happy out on the water. Mostly Lake Ontario I'm 10 minutes away.