1986 Starcraft Mariner resto

I recently bought a 18 ft 86 Mariner in need of a lot of tlc and elbow-greese. So, I have been stalkin just about all of the Starcraft restoration projects for the past month or so to get an idea of what I have gotten myself into. I have really enjoyed the restos that I have seen and am very excited to get started. I am new to aluminum boats and have many questions. I will post some pics as soon as I get some.

Re: 1986 Starcraft Mariner resto

I got some more pictures of what I have accomplished this weekend. Removed carpet, old wood, and foam. Vacuumed out the dirt and remnants of plywood and foam. Filled the hull and checked for leaks... found about 12. I believe that all of the leaks are due to electrolysis and not loose rivets. I will get a closer look at it later.

jasoutside

Supreme Mariner

Excellent rig Ft. Pierce! Very sharp! Looks like you made quick work of the cardboard/mulch deck you had there.

Welcome man! You have a really great project to work with, congrats:D

Thanks, Jasoutside! I'm really excited about this project. I'm currently working two jobs so progress will be slow until summer. But a much needed project indeed.

sprintst

Commander

Keep plugging away. You'll get her done...

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

Great looking hull there FtPierce. Welcome to the Starmada and good luck with your project.

Thanks guys... I am debating on what to patch some tiny holes in the hull with. I have looked up Marine Tex putty (white and gray... any difference?) and plan on Gluvit-ing the rivets when I'm done patching. Opinions?

PS I really enjoy stalking all of your restoration threads!:D

Broadcast

Petty Officer 1st Class

Looks like a beaut! I'll be watch'in this one come together! :cool:

The biggest holes are about size of the ball end of a ballpoint pin, maybe a hair bigger. Big enough to pee a pretty good stream when I flouded the hull.