1984 75hp L4 with unique problem? I'm baffled!

delican

Cadet
I acquired this old motor without knowing its history but it had excellent compression and passed the leak down test with flying colors. I have jumped through all (and I mean ALL) of the hoops and troubleshooting on this old outboard and have it running fine while hooked up to water using 'earmuffs': idles great at 900 rpm and has excellent throttle response. Runs like a scalded dog...while hooked up to 'earmuffs'. Back the boat into the lake submerging the lower unit in the water (still on the trailer) and it won't idle or run. Determined to test the motor in the lake, I eventually, with a lot of starting, shifting and dying, got it into open water. At WOT it would only run a sluggish 2200 rpm. Take it out of the water, hook up earmuffs, and it would run a snappy 5800 rpm (more if I pushed it). I think of myself as a pretty fair mechanic but I am new to 2 stroke outboards and am pretty baffled by this. All I can come up with is it has a (partially) plugged exhaust and when submerged in the lake the exhaust back pressure becomes too great. Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
It sounds like your idle jets are set too lean. Set 'em to 1-1/2 turns open and she should idle in the water. Now on the water in gear, motor warm, adjust the idle mixture screws such that the motor will rev up. If she bogs, open the idle mixture screws one at a time, 1/8 turn and try again. You will likely need to richen them a turn or so.

This assumes the link and synch are correct.

racerone

Supreme Mariner
All motors sound great running on a hose !!---Means little.-----Sounds like it is running on 2 of 4 cylinders.----Does spark jump a gap of 3/8" on each plug lead , yes or no ?---Motor needs 4 things to run.----Spark at the right time.----Correct amount of fuel.----Compression in the cylinders .----Compression in each of the 4 crankcases.----Should not be hard to figure out the issue.

delican