1973 Larson Volero Sport 187 rebuild

wvubeerman

Cadet
Hello,

I am new to the boating world and recently obtained a 1973 Larson Volero Sport 187 that was garage kept and only has about 100 hours on the engine. It has not been run in over 8 years so most of the rubber hoses and stuff are dry rotted and things are not moving like they should. I am trying to get the engine up and running so that I can know if totally redoing this boat is worth the time and effort. I am able to diagnosis and fix almost any small engine issues aka lawnmowers and am very handy with tools. I am probably not going to use a lot of the correct words so if I offend it is not my intention. I am looking for a place where I can download or buy the engine books and the owners manuals. I also, want to know if they make those books like auto-mechanics use that show how to fix or replace everything involving this boat and/or engine. Any help or guidance would be much appreciated.

IMAG0303.jpgIMAG0308.jpgIMAG0309.jpgIMAG0312.jpgIMAG0647.jpg

62cruiserinc

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 1973 Larson Volero Sport 187 rebuild

Here is a link to an online Mercruiser Stern Drive Manual. Go to the table of contents at the end and then click on the section you want and it will go there.

http://www.boatfix.com/merc/Servmanl/6/6covr3.pdf

I'm not sure if it covers your year, but check using the stern drive serial number and the manual.

Steve

62cruiserinc

Petty Officer 1st Class

Here is a site where I got my engine manual. According to the site you need Mercruiser Engine manual #1, which goes to 1973.

http://boatinfo.no/lib/mercruiser/manuals/mercruiser1.html

In case the link directly to manual #1 doesn't work, here is their general manual site.

http://boatinfo.no/lib/library.html

at this link, select "Manuals" at the top and then "Mercruiser" at the side and then pick manual #1 in the moving window in the center.

Steve

62cruiserinc

Petty Officer 1st Class