1971 Merc 1350 Controls

asr2001

Seaman Apprentice
Hi,

I am looking to replace the controls for my 71 Merc 1350. I am looking for the original controls that besides having the fast idle lever also has the button for the electric choke. Can anyone reccommend or know where to locate controls that will have the choke button. Seems all i can find are replacements that do not have this option. i am totally new to outboards so any help would be great

thanks
Adam

Scaaty

Vice Admiral
Re: 1971 Merc 1350 Controls

They pop up on ebay quite often. Plan on a good $250-350 for a good working unit. Watch (ask first) for corroded crumbly insulation on the switch wires in the box. Whats wrong with the one ya got?

asr2001

Seaman Apprentice

Thanks you for the suggestion. My Mechanic stated that I may want to start and look for a new one. Seems that he thought that it might be part of the situation where as i am having issues with reverse but he was unsure so he stated I may want to locate one. Also like you had stated the wires inside are no longer what i would say upto par, So we have repaired and replaced some and it seems to have done the trick.

I was hoping to find one in case what i was trying did not pan out. I also have a second older Merc that I can not locate the controld for and was thinking of placing it on a second hull so Either way it would not have hurt.

Scaaty

Vice Admiral

Keep an eye on ebay then. I think the red or blue decal boxes will work. Good luck!

OldMercsRule

Captain

Keep an eye on ebay then. I think the red or blue decal boxes will work. Good luck!