1957 Evinrude Fastwin 18 questions...

flatheadlakemonster

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hi all!

I am in the process of reviving a 57 fastwin 18 hp Motor. My main question is, where are you guys finding all of your parts? Everyone that I have looked at( I have been searching for quite a while now...) starts all of thier parts around 1958. Was there a major model change there? I am a 2 stroke noob, but I have been building car for over 10 years, so I think I should be able to figure it out. I just need parts! I have been looking throught the iboats listings also, but either the year or the hp is not correct for the parts. I need the lower unit seal kit, and probably much more, but that is my major hangup right now. I am just wondering which bouy all these classic parts houses are tied up to!!

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated! I would love to get this thing running, It just loooks like a bunch of fun!!

jbjennings

Captain
Re: 1957 Evinrude Fastwin 18 questions...

Try laingsoutboards.com and use their phone number.
Or even better, get yourself a parts manual so you will know the part numbers to what you need and you can look up quite a bit of them here at iboats.
There are several other places.
Good luck, nice motor! :)
JBJ

flatheadlakemonster

Petty Officer 3rd Class

That is awesome, I think they have everything I need! I will do some more poking around thier site when I get home tonight! Thanks!

tmcalavy

Rear Admiral

There's a list of sites/outfits on the Links page at www.aomci.org that specialize in older iron...enjoy your toy!

flatheadlakemonster

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Thanks again! Does anyone know what the compression values should be for it?

jbjennings

Captain

There were never any OMC published compression values, but I've found if you get over a 110 lbs., it's probably going to run nice. They'll run even lower than that.
Good luck,
JBJ

flatheadlakemonster

Petty Officer 3rd Class