Best Service Manuals???

grover777

Seaman Apprentice
I am a novice looking to do some work on my 1959 Johnson Super Seahorse 50hp. <br /><br />What service manuals are better for a beginner?? I know there are several brands out there.<br /><br />Thanks a lot!!<br /><br />Daron <br />Mahomet, IL

ezeke

Supreme Mariner
Re: Best Service Manuals???

Model specific OMC Factory Manuals. Get the set: Owners, Service and Parts.

Jack Shellac

Lieutenant Commander

Agree. The factory manuals are much more specific and thorough. Easier to follow in doing a job.

DHPMARINE

Captain

I usually support the factory manual,but for a 1959 model,I would go Clymers.<br />DHP

grover777

Seaman Apprentice

DHPMARINE:<br /><br />What makes you recommend Clyners over a factory reprint? Just want to know all the pros and cons before buying one.<br /><br />Thanks!<br />Daron

rolmops

Vice Admiral

I prefer the Seloc manual mostly because it assumes that you know absolutely nothing and guides you through complicated repairs and services with a lot of help and patience.It is almost as if the authors,Mr Coles and his wife, stand right next to you and help you along.<br />But there are a lot of people who do prefer the manuals that presume, you have some mechanical experience and are written with that presumption in mind.

OBJ

Supreme Mariner

I would say one thing about the generic manuals, they do at times tell you how to get around having to have "special tools". I have found that helpful on occasion. But I still prefer the OEM manuals for their "specific model" info.

blgrams

Seaman Apprentice

factory manuals parts/owners/service absolutely especially for the wiring diagrams. If you decide to go with the aftermarket manual (clymers/seloc)at least get the parts manual. by itself it is worth it's weight in gold showing a drawing of the assembly of each section as an exploded view.

alcan

Commander