Thoughts on Sierra carb rebuild kits

dingbat

Supreme Mariner
Need new gaskets for a set of carbs (6) I swapped out last year. Got lazy and left the OE (black) gaskets in them.

Thoughts on quality of kit?
Worth paying additional $6 ea. for OE?

tphoyt

Ensign
In my eyes it would be worth the extra cost.
But I also feel Sierra products are the next best thing. Just my thoughts.
Best

airshot

Rear Admiral
There are many things I woukd stay with OEM if possible, but a carb kit should not be an issue, however for 6$, for those couple bucks...I would go oem.

harringtondav

Commander
I like Sierra. ....sounds like heresy as a past Merc disciple.
I've never had a problem with their Merc parts, including carb kits. I've used their Alpha II lower unit seal kits, shim kits, prop shaft pinion needle bearings and gimbal bearings (same Torrington and Link Belt parts). Also Sierra prop shafts, engine coupler yokes, drive gear yokes, and lower pinion drive shafts.
I worked as a drive train mfg engineer before retirement, and I have a .0005" digital mic to prove it. Their parts measured up to OEM measurements and friction welding stds on the wet/lubed shafts. ...I always figured they sourced from Merc's source on these.
I had to replace a FWD gear set after a wing dam pile up. I went with Merc OEM. Spiral gear sets and their shimming tolerances have zero room for error.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Sierra brand works fine. I have used them many time w/o issue.

I have found in one (one) occasion on one parts site, that my Johnny 60*V6 engine had the wrong kits listed, along with the correct kits, for that application. The wrong kits had one wrong gasket. It therefore pays to doublecheck the application for the kit. Not Sierra's fault.

stresspoint

Lieutenant Junior Grade
the mercury stealers here in Australia sell sierra parts as OEM , don't ask me how they get away with that if you guys can get genuine OEM Mercruiser / Mercury in the USA. .

harringtondav

Commander