Gas Question.. Fact or False?

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner
Re: Gas Question.. Fact or False?

I gotta figgue out how to post pics.
some fuel lines,especially the silver merc lines, the seirra silverado and a few others use a vynil liner.
the e eats the liner and feeds it to the engine fuel system.
most my work lately, and I am an autherized tech for mercruiser and volvo and a master tech for yamaha, have been ethanol related typically either water or fuel system component degradation caused by the ethanol.
can the engine itself handle E-10, barely.
most 4 year old and older boats cannot.
like I say, the guy with the tinny and the 9.9 and a 6 gallon tank never has issues.
the guy with the 33 grady or the 36 contender with 325 to 400 gallon capacity has serious issues.

JoLin

Vice Admiral

Basically, what you're saying is that Merc, Sierra and maybe Yamaha, knowingly sell inferior parts to their customers. Making components e-resistant certainly isn't a mystery any longer, so the only logical reason to do so would be that they're cheaper to make, i.e., they're ripping people off.

Interesting that nobody's brought a class action suit (unless they have and I'm just unaware of it).

Falco

Cadet

I have been a victim of phase seperation in my tank as the boat is used once a month with road gas. Star-tron worked well for me to cure it.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Moving this over to Boat topics.
It's not just an IO problem but also includes outboards. Might as well let everyone have an opinion.

oldjeep

Admiral

Ethanol has been a fixture in most regions of the country for something like 30years. Hoses, seals and gaskets materials were revised to handle it long ago. Virtually NO actual running issues in boats can logically be attributed to ethanol any longer.