2003 Johnson 115 , Cowling Stuck On a Lever broken ...

OneLuv1979

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I have just purchased a boat got it home and went to pull the hood/cowling off and the it was stuck , and the damn lever broke off , now i have no way to even try ....

I am not a boat mechanic , but im just curious can this be taken off without breaking the dog house / cowl ?

Please im lost and now my recently purchased boat is messed up and i cant even try to fix it ...

Any suggestions or even a lil assurance it can be taken off with out damaging the hood would be refreshing news ....
No one to turn to and cant afford a mechanic now ....

Thanks

Anchor Management 1

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 2003 Johnson 115 , Cowling Stuck On a Lever broken ...

Does that one have rivets on the outside of the hood? if so drill them out.

trendsetter240

Lieutenant

I have just purchased a boat got it home and went to pull the hood/cowling off and the it was stuck , so i wd-40 the hell out of it and tried a day later , and the damn lever broke off , now i have no way to even try ....

I am not a boat mechanic , but im just curious can this be taken off without breaking the dog house / cowl ?

Please im lost and now my recently purchased boat is messed up and i cant even try to fix it ...

Any suggestions or even a lil assurance it can be taken off with out damaging the hood would be refreshing news ....
No one to turn to and cant afford a mechanic now ....

Thanks ..

Welcome to Iboats!

You are lost trying to remove the cover from your outboard..:D

OK. Now the 2003 models should have a lever on both sides that flips down then you can remove the lid. Please correct me if I'm wrong. If you have broken one off can you grab the remaining piece with some vice grips and turn it?

It seems strange to me that a 2003 model engine has the cover seized on.

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus