fiberglass over alum skin

jspano

Senior Chief Petty Officer
i know this is considered like bringing a yahama to a harley rally.
but why can't fiberglass be used to repair alum boats.
i put some on a pc of alum as a test and it seems to be good.
just asking please do not kick me off the forum for asking

joe

Steve Mahler

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: fiberglass over alum skin

i am no expert, but i would be afraid the two would separate with the flexing of the aluminum, over time.

Robert4Winns

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I am no expert, but I would guess that the two materials woudl have different rates of expansion due to temperature changes, which would eventually cause the bond to fail.

jspano

either or ....repair or sealer

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member

There are epoxies designed for aluminum and boat hulls. Fiberglass is not one of them.

evildocrsx

Petty Officer 1st Class

Hmmm.... What if... I cover the hull of my Starcraft with fiberglass and then pop out the aluminum hull leaving a mold behind. I could then replicate my Starcraft many times over, but with fiberglass. Would that work?

Chinewalker

Fleet Admiral

Fiberglass on flat aluminum might work, BUT fiberglass doesn't easily conform to the bends, rivets, sharp corners, etc. of the aluminum, thus leaving air gaps, which will work into larger gaps over time. Plus, that will add a fair bit of weight, too!

Bondo

Staff member

i put some on a pc of alum as a test and it seems to be good.

Ayuh,... So explain your Test sequence....

You can do it anyway you'd like,...
But,...
Polyester resin will fall off aluminum over time... Especially when subjected to the rigors of a boat hull...

Bob_VT

Staff member

Please ..... you have 7 active threads ....... you already stated that you were going to use gluvit and 5200 for your hull....

no need to make a new thread with every troll oh question!

jspano

sorry for the TROLL question.