missing some power, and oil pressure

-stig-

Seaman Apprentice
hello people!

have been out boating some in these last days with my 3.0 rebuild merc. have checked and rechecked the timing, and the timing advance. looks just fine. the compression is about 140-145psi on all cylinders (just overhauled, not run in yet).
but i think i'm missing some power, the prop is way to small, but it stops at 4600rpm, and according to some prop calculators im just using 60-70hp..
the previous owner ran the engine at 5500rpm, so i jut wonder what is wrong?
have checked the rpm with a shop tack to..
can the valves be a little loose? so the opening time is too short for more revs?

have ordered a new propell, because i dont want to run it that high, but if i'm missing half my power that is going to be a sad story.

and, i hae a strange oilpressure... i'm pretty used to car engines, but im new to these mercruisers, but on these engine i get 45psi, and it stays there, whatever rpm. bougth a new gauge and installed, same story there. any clues?

to last, it cant hold the rpms on the muffs, i can set it at 1500rpm, and it just falls slowly until the engine dies... carb adjustment?

thanks, and regards!

dingdongs

Chief Petty Officer
Re: missing some power, and oil pressure

your 4600 revs are correct for the engine.prop pitch is more important for what u want to achieve from your boat.these engines revving to the last owners figures is why it failed.a gps chartplotter or another boater will prove top speed if thats what your after but your engine seems ok.

Rocky_Road

Lieutenant Commander

and, i hae a strange oilpressure... i'm pretty used to car engines, but im new to these mercruisers, but on these engine i get 45psi, and it stays there, whatever rpm. bougth a new gauge and installed, same story there. any clues?

thanks, and regards!