evinrude fleetwin 7.5 hp model 7524

elrod

Seaman Apprentice
I just bought this last night with a boat and trailer. I am extremely new to boating. I want to run the engine in a barrel of water. Is this safe? Is there a limit of how long to run it? Is there an issue because it won't be cruising through the water? I changed to hypoid oil on it this afternoon. It was rather creamy and greenish does that mean a little water and does it mean something serious?
I love my boat!

elrod

Seaman Apprentice
Re: evinrude fleetwin 7.5 hp model 7524

It was made in 1958.

Daviet

Fleet Admiral

You can run it in a barrel, just make sure water level is about 1/2 way up the exhaust housing. It is safe to do, just keep fresh, cool water in barrel. You can check shift operation, just don't rev past fast idle in gear, will push a lot of water out of barrel. Water in lower unit oil will turn it a creamy color. Keep a eye on it, you should change the seal washers on the screws when you change lower unit oil. Watch the exhaust outlet for water pump operation.

elrod

Seaman Apprentice

I've got to look a little closer but on that lower drain I didn't notice an o-ring but I did on the upper one. Maybe it leaks a little there. Thanks for the advice.

elrod

Seaman Apprentice

Dang, what do you mean when you say to watch the exhaust outlet for water pump operation?

Elbo

Petty Officer 2nd Class

water should spray out of the exhaust port to indicate the water pump is working .Thats why the quy he said fill about 1/2 up the leg.There is a water intake on the lower .If the water pump is working properly you should see a spray of water coming out.If not don't run it long or it will over heat.If cooling properly ,you should be able to put your hand on the head of the engine.(where the spark plugs are)

Daviet

Fleet Admiral