Southeastern PA

Billdc

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Southeastern PA

thanks for the offer but with our limited experience it's prolly not a good idea. funny tho, we have a very good friend who has a 30+ foot sailboat at a marina in HDG has been encouraging us to bring her down and try the water.

who knows? maybe...

I bought our boat last fall, and have been to the bay 5-6 times from Valley Forge. Takes less than 90 minutes. If you have a GPS once you are there it's easy, channels are very well marked. I took the coast guard course over the winter and if you passed that you will have no problems. I am more relaxed there than on the river here because I have a chart for the bay. You can PM me if you have any questions. In fact I'm going there today.

cadunkle

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I'm fairly new to boating in this region and have only been on the Delaware. I launch in NJ either in Pennsauken (free but not as nice and not as much parking) or in National Park (nice ramp, but charge for parking and farther from me). Follow channel markers and you're fine. In Philly area a lot of what is outside the channel is safe at high tide, but check charts and watch your depth gauge because at low tide there are plenty of shallow spots that come up quick.

Anyone know of good spots to do water sports on the Delaware?

pfunk42

Cadet

I'm looking for a little info about the accessible areas of the Schuylkill for boating (skiiing, etc).

I know there's a ramp near 422/Betzwood but above it was recommended to not launch there. Is it really that bad? It would seem that would give you access to the area along Port Indian if you could launch there.

Are there any other ramps that can get you to the Port Indian section? I know there's one between Port Indian Rd. and Schuylkill Ave but is that private? If it's private how is it controlled? Is it only accessible to local homeowners or is there some sort of membership?