Sunken Boat Project

I just received a boat for free. A 1974 30' Chris Craft Express Cruiser. I knew it was in rough shape when I decided to take it on but didn't realize how bad. I was at the Marina and talking to another boater who told me that it had sank for about half a day do to rain water build up and no bilge pump. I'm having a diver check it out this week but am a little concerned about the structure now.

I'm planning to rebuilding the interior first and worrying about the Motor and Mechanics later on.... It was free so i want to start small and see what can be done with it over time. Am I crazy to start a project like this? Does the boat structure become compromised after a boat has been submerged and resurfaced, and does the seller (or in this case giver) or marina have to tell you that a boat has sunk before you take it over. The Boat is floating now and seems to be fine I just need to start looking for Black Mold.

I'm new to this so if anyone has any advice it would be much appreciated. I have a lot of work cut out for me.

Thanks

fixb52s

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Sunken Boat Project

Wood will rot if left wet. Like you stated, you better look for mold. I would also ask if the engine was dried out, because a submerged drivetrain will be junk within 24 hours after it comes up unless it was "worked".

As for getting it for free, I don't think they HAVE to tell you, but it would have been nice. If you paid anything for it, then yes, they should have disclosed it.

It might be a little more work then you might want to tackle. I would give it back.​

oops!

Supreme Mariner

a boat really needs to be neglected before it sinks due to rain water.

the motor's are probably toast.....thats the expencive part. 15 to 20 grand worth.

if you have the time and money.........have atter

good project that could give you a nice boat.

WizeOne

Commander

It's in salt water