Can I upgrade/convert a 2bbl V8 to a 4bbl?

tmh

Lieutenant Junior Grade
I read something in another forum about changing a 2bbl engine to a 4bbl. Can this be done, and if so, what's the approx. cost to have someone do it for me ?(I'm not too good with repair stuff).

1985 305 v8 200hp Mercruiser with Alpha drive.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: Can I upgrade/convert a 2bbl V8 to a 4bbl?

Swap the intake manifold and carb. However, the 305 heads have pretty small valves and therefore don't flow as well as 350 heads. Any small improvement in performance may not be worth the cost. If you can't get more air through the engine it can't make more power. Power is a combination of displacement, cam, compression, and carburetion.

bjcsc

Lieutenant Commander

Silvertip said:
Power is a combination of displacement, cam, compression, and carburetion.

And ignition advance.

You will find this will not be worth doing. My guess on the cost would be ~$2,000.

whywhyzed

Banned

I found all the stuff used.. be patient....you can do it affordably... Whatever you budget, add $400 to 500 for a good used running 350 long block of the same vintage and swap it in too, reuse the 305's cam if it's good and switch to brass freeze plugs....
You can add 60 hp for around $1200 if you are thrifty.

What pitch prop are you running now?
If more than 17P now, you might have a drive ratio issue adding that much power....

edit - oops just read the "not handy" thing... I would expect labour to run another $600 to $1200

bamadave

Petty Officer 1st Class

It would be one thing if you could do the work yourself, but to pay someone to try to get more power, your money might be better spent buying a boat with more power. My experience with basterdized boats is they are never the same after the work is done.

tmh

Lieutenant Junior Grade