gelcoat

uncleglenny

Cadet
ok im new to boating so excuse this stupid question but i read alot of things about gelcoat ...so what is it ? is it like clear coat on a car?...dont laugh

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner
Re: gelcoat

It's the colored coating you see on anything made of fiberglass, it's sort of like paint, only it's used in the mold when the part is being made.

Plainsman

Rear Admiral

Gel coat is a polyester resin. And there is are no stupid questions in my mind. We all have to learn.8)

uncleglenny

Cadet

so if u can see the fibers on the hull of a boat does that mean the gelcoat has do be redone or can u do a spot repair ?

shanklejo

Cadet

Google "How to: Boat Tech Guides"
You can find the answer to your question there.

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner

Do you mean the gel coat is worn off and you can see the resin and glass fibers? If it's a small area then it only needs a spot repair, if half the gel coat is worn off the hull, then it's best to repaint it, painting it is much easier than re-gel coating. If you mean you can see the fiber print in the surface of the gel coat, but the color is still there, it's a different type of repair.

uncleglenny

Cadet

i dont have a boat yet but im asking questions that will make me more educated wnen i "go looking" for a boat thanks for the answers

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner

It's nice to know a little about gel coat before you go look at a boat, sometimes people think think there are major problems with a boat and it's only easily fixed cosmetic issues.

dk6164

Seaman

"If you mean you can see the fiber print in the surface of the gel coat, but the color is still there, it's a different type of repair."

ondarvr-Could you elaborate a little on this? I have this problem on 1 side of my boat

Thanks

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner

dk