Starcraft Pontoon

CoachSteve

Cadet
Looking to buy a pontoon boat. Looked at the Starcraft Classic 200 4Pt. Seems like a really nice boat.
I'm new to boating and wondering what the forum thinks.
Thanks

jake069

Seaman
Re: Starcraft Pontoon

my parents have a 02 playbouy and love it, Iyts a nice boat, Never looked at the starcrafts

bamadave

Petty Officer 1st Class

New or Used? Starcraft is not the best out there nor is it the worst. If used, check it out top to bottom, bow to stern. Check for soft spots in the flooring. Oh yeah, I HATE i/o pontoons. TOO HARD TO WORK ON THE ENGINE!

steelespike

Supreme Mariner

We have a 96 18 ft.Starcraft.While I like the performance
handling etc.I'm not impressed with the design.front running lights constantly get broken,deck corner covers torn loose by the dock And I've been boating over 50 years so know how to handle a boat. Bow gate sags and has no support to help stop it when closed.Key switch spins when turned.

bamadave

Petty Officer 1st Class

Coach, do yourself a favor and check out Crest. Coupled with Honda, hard combo to beat. (What I sell)

CoachSteve

Cadet

It's a new 20 ft with a 50 hp yamaha o/b.
Maybe I am choosing it or all the wrong reasons. Dealer is located just ten miniutes for home which also is where the marina is and I get a free boat slip there. So I'm saving $2000.00 by not buying a trailer. If want to take it to another lake the marina will let me borrow one free of charge. Is this a normal perk?
I am only five miles from Dallas, so Im pretty sure that there is most all brands around..
Thanks for your responses, this site awsome for newbies like me.
http://www.starcraftmarine.com/showroom/boat.php?boat=381

KCook

Lieutenant Commander