Prop spin ?

mda2002

Cadet
Hello , I have a 2004 Key Largo 206 with a 2004 mercury sws 150. According to the prop spin calc on boat ramp. com I am at 17% spin at WOT. rpm at WOT is 5400 and my speed according to my GPS is 40 mph. AT 4100 rpm Im at 11.7% spin and 31 mph. What can I do to decrease the spin.

PAkev

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Prop spin ?

I'm not a prop guru but will explain the best I can.<br /><br />The term "Prop Spin" is also known as "Prop Slip" which is the inefficiency of theoretical forward motion as per prop dimensions.<br /><br />For instance a 3 Blad 14Dia. X 19Pitch with 10% slip will have slip which reduces forward motion approx. 2in per turn. Not bad but reducing pitch to a 17 pitch will probably increase performance with less pitch. <br /> <br />What prop size are you turning?<br /><br />Going down in pitch often decreases slip.

Ron G

Commander

Im not for sure but also, i think your rpms need to be up a little..

mda2002

Cadet

My current prop is 15" with a 17" pitch, I think that would be 15x17.

Ron G

Commander

WHats your motor height now?Something dont sound right to me?maybe DH or Kenny can help more.ButI would think a 17 would have your RpmS on up there alot more.Tell us were your motor is at,is there a jackplate?

gatorred

Petty Officer 1st Class

i had one spun the prop would slip by turning motor over by hand with prop in gear out of water it was a 6 hp johnson bigger motor's the prop shop marked my center with scrib,thus looked at blade shape now he said that was leading to slip from over powering it i hope this helped

Ron G

Commander

I was thinking that to but if it was slipping that bad your rpms would shoot up,do they?

mda2002

Cadet