Update on Jeep TJ Wrangler shimmy

SpinnerBait_Nut

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Update on Jeep TJ Wrangler shimmy

I will add this so you all can have a good laugh, but I would check the rubber brake line coming to the brake caliper and I will tell you why.<br /><br />You think a shake is bad in a Jeep, try it out in a 30' Class A motorhome.<br /><br />Puts a whole new meaning to shake.<br /><br />My problem was the rubber lines were collapsing and not letting the caliper release all the way and at speed, I guess the pads were grabbing and letting go and it sure did shake.<br />I mean shake the whole 30,000#'s of motorhome.<br /><br />Replaced both sides and no more shake.<br /><br />OK, now go ahead and laugh. :cool:

Dunaruna

Admiral

SBN,<br /><br />I'm a brake mechanic by trade and that does not sound unreasonable.<br /><br />Very difficult to diagnose using words on a computer screen, ball joints and tie rod ends are obvious culprits but never ever assume until all is double checked. <br /><br />Flexible brake hoses swell over time and begin to restrict causing what you described (cut an old one open and you will see what I mean).<br /><br />Aldo

jinx

Senior Chief Petty Officer

I'm not laughing SBN...I'm having to drive a single axle dump truck to take the kids to school and other errands. Love that 10 mpg I'm getting!<br /><br />I'll pass the word, I gave up doing this one myself a week ago. I haven't heard anything in two days.<br /><br />You guys will be the first to know how it turns out.<br /><br />Jinx

jinx

Well, I went by the shop this morning. The Jeep now occupies an honored place in the back. They have now idea how to fix it--their words, not mine. This is a good shop, too.<br /><br />Chrysler got back to me, but they won't get involved unless it is at one of their dealers--no surprise there. It has already been to a Jeep dealer, but I'm afraid I'll just be emptying my wallet out on parts changing.

LubeDude

Admiral