1975 Starcraft SS 16' Freshen Up

Michigan Lakes

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hi there guys. I've been kicking around the iBoats forums for a few months and have learned a great deal already. I had been spending quite a bit of time on The Hull Truth when I came across a post mentioning iBoats, Watermann and his rivet expertise. Needless to say, I found iBoats far more in tune with my strata of boat ownership.

I'll be a bit long-winded with this first post in order to get the back story out of the way.

After a somewhat lengthy and very particular search (aluminum, 16', open bow, back-to-back seats, "running", OMC power, less than $2k) I found this boat on CL, and picked it up in Muskegon, MI in June 2018. The original asking price was $1800. When I met the owner at the boat launch, he could not keep the 70hp 3cyl Evinrude running under any sort of load. We ended up settling on $1100 based on his assumption that all three carburetors needed to be rebuilt. After some research and photo comparisons, it became quite apparent that the stator insulation had almost entirely melted off (see attached photo). A $50 used stator from ebay managed to solve the stalling under load issue. I'm not going to say the outboard runs like a Swiss watch now, but it's good enough to begin addressing structural and cosmetic issues.

To the best of my knowledge, I am the third owner. According to the second owner, the original owner had a habit of dropping his 20lb anchor directly on the bow floor after each use. Not surprisingly, that entire area was cratered and splintered. Additionally, there were multiple soft soft spots along the edges of the flooring.