Welcome Guest - Sign Up today
Welcome Guest - Sign Up today

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Installing Bimini Mounting brackets on Fiberglass.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installing Bimini Mounting brackets on Fiberglass.

I've got a 1990 Bayliner Capri. First boat for me, so I'm still learning.This boat came with a full cover pre-installed, so it basically if I get caught in a storm, I can cover up completely, and still stay dry.Anyway, a couple of the plastic mounting brackets, for the top supports broke. Partially due to age, partially do to operator frustration. ;-)Anyway, I purchased some really nice stainless steel mounting brackets, that give it 360 deg. swivel capability, and is much stronger than the plastic ones. My question is, I can reuse one of the holes in the hull, but need to drill a new hole for the other one. What's the techinque for doing this? I assume I need a pilot hole, just like if it was wood...is that all?I'm in IA, so is temperature a factor too? Only drill in warm weather..etc.Again, probably an easy one for most of you, but I'm truly learning as I go.thanks,dorelse
    My Boat:
    1978 Glastron Carlson CVZ-18
    Project Thread - https://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=357939

1986 Bayliner Capri 1600 - SOLD
    Project Thread - https://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=338265

Re: Installing Bimini Mounting brackets on Fiberglass.