Can I run my engine without muffs, if it has this?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cdnNick

Petty Officer 2nd Class
This is my first time getting the boat ready in the spring and I was inspecting the engine last night and noticed a blue cap with a water tap on it. It looks like a garden hose will hook up to it and from searching the net it looks like it's a freshwater flush hookup. So does that mean I can connect a hose to it and run the engine without using muffs on the water intake?

IMG_20160517_204448.jpg

meder24

Seaman
I would think using the flush instead of muffs would be a good way to burn up your impeller since no water will be passing through the water pump portion.

BRICH1260

Lieutenant
Yes you can. That adapter allows you to run the engine without muffs. Let the water run for a few seconds before starting, until it comes out the drive, then start it. Do not go above 1K rpm's. This water will be directed into the water intake line and feed your water pump. Make sure you reinstall the blue cap tight when done or you will draw air and then burn up your pump.

Last edited:

spoilsofwar

Lieutenant Junior Grade
I would think using the flush instead of muffs would be a good way to burn up your impeller since no water will be passing through the water pump portion.

Incorrect; the pump is located on the engine for these VP engines and drives. The impeller will see water when the hose is attached to the flush port.

You are free to run the engine with a hose hooked to this port, it says so right in the manual and I've done it for years.

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
Water doesn't go the pump the normal path. Once the block fills, water will run backwards to the raw water pump from the thermostat housing and will keep it from running dry

On my VP the flush hose goes to the two block drains

Last edited:

Blue2005

Seaman Apprentice
Yup. As others have said, hook up the water hose and wait for water to exit through the drive and you're good to go.